Why I Stopped Shopping for Groceries

So glad you’re back! We’ve been talking over some tips to help you get ready to meal prep. So far, we’ve covered purchasing containers, creating a menu, and preparing for your shopping trip. Despite my last tip about making shopping trips more enjoyable, I must confess…I have all but given up on shopping. Let me explain…

I’m a huge fan of online shopping! Seriously, I should own stock in Amazon. If your best friend was the person who comes to your door the most, then my best friend would be the FedEx guy. So I am not sure why it took me so long to try order ahead or home delivery for my groceries. I suppose it was either my trust issues- “What if they pick bananas that are too green or too brown?”- or just not wanting to feel all pretentious as I rang the pick up bell while other shoppers dutifully pushed past with their carts. Either way, I took the plunge, and I don’t want to go back. Why? Glad you asked!

  1. I forget fewer items. I order straight from my list, so there’s very little chance that I’ll miss something.
  2.  I save tons of time that I can use for my actual meal prep.
  3. I save money by buying only what’s on my list instead of getting distracted by sale signs and well-placed displays. Also, some stores offer incentives to online shoppers like free items or online only offers.
  4. I often get “upgrades” when they are out of the item I ordered. I’ve gotten upgraded to a larger package or name brand item before, and they’ve given me salad mixes, yogurts, etc. for free when they are expiring soon.

Many stores offer deals for the first time you try online shopping, so give it a shot. I think you’ll be glad you did.

Southwest egg rolls with jar salad

004.JPG

One of my faves! I have to start making a double batch; because, I am always so sad when they’re gone. Great pre-workout snack or light lunch.

Buffalo chicken stuffed sweet potato with sauteed kale

005

The only change I made from the recipe was seasoning the chicken with ranch seasoning before cooking it in my Instant Pot. This was perfect with a side of Greek yogurt based ranch (if you missed that recipe, I linked it up here)

Parmesan crusted tilapia with roasted red potatoes and broccoli

003.jpg

 

Somehow the tilapia escaped being photographed…this is what the finished product looks like, but I made it with different sides this time. The point is, this is a versatile recipe that’s great with made side combinations! lol

Pan fried London broil with roasted veggie mix and sauteed kale

010

 

The green stuff is chimichurri. It’s kind of a tangy, spicy sauce made with cilantro and parsley that’s really good with steak/beef. Substituted carmelized salmon for my non-beef eaters.

008

Stay tuned for next week’s installment and menu with recipe links!

Featured image photo cred: Vibrant Photography

Leave a Reply

